Creating a “Fresh” Start

So I’ve been thinking lately about the foods I eat and how they make me feel, how they make my body feel.  I don’t really like what I see, what I consume. I look in my refrigerator and am not excited about what I see, and I want to feel motivated and energized about the consumables I consume.

What to do about this? There’s only one thing really, one way to have a fresh new start.  Clean out my cupboards, my pantry, my fridge, and my freezer, so I made a plan, a date to do just that.  My Saturday night special date with myself.

I grabbed a few bags and started with the pantry.  I took ALL the items out and threw away the ones that I had no interest in, the ones that expired, and the ones I decided just weren’t healthy for my body. I moved from the pantry to the fridge, to the freezer to the cupboards, following the same procedure each time.  I felt a certain freedom in disposing of that which did not and does not bring me joy. I even gave away healthy foods that I just had no desire to eat.  There are plenty of veggies (like brussel sprouts, broccoli, zucchini, mushrooms, etc.) that I enjoy, so why keep ones that make me cringe!

I sorted through all my tea bags too!  Life is just too short to drink stuff that doesn’t please the palate!

Removing all that food and “stuff” felt a lot like getting rid of unnecessary baggage and along with that comes a certain amount of freedom and fun, for now I get to decide what to fill the empty spaces with, and I’m not sure what that will look like.  But this I do know.  It will be foods I want to eat, foods that will give me the stamina and strength to keep going to Bikram Yoga classes (going ever deeper into postures), to continue going on longer hikes, and to feel even happier and giddier about this life I’m leading. I will fill my life and my fridge with foods that feed the soul, for those are the foods that really matter.

The current, deliriously happy, state of my fridge!

The current, deliriously happy, state of my fridge!

6 thoughts on “Creating a “Fresh” Start

  1. I just typed the longest comment and it was lost. Here is a condensed version: were we together on Saturday night because this is exactly what I did! Here is a suggestion: Costco has Vitamix machines on sale. I got one and we have been making concoctions all weekend. All have spinach or kale in them, plus all fresh fruits (so much you can do!). I recommend it. I can already see that we will waste less and I feel healthier already! Go Nancy!

  2. Way to go! I will use your motivation to jump start my flagging motivation. Watch out, pantry, here I come.

  3. Wow! What an inspiration! I second the Vitamix idea — the more I use mine the better I feel. Juicing is great too. In any case, I’m really excited for you!

  4. Way to go Nancy! This is the first step to a healthier, more vibrant you. I commend you on your choice and your bravery to take that first step! You are what you eat! I hope to show as much courage as you when I finally decide to do the same to my fridge, cupboards, life, etc. I imagine the feeling of setting yourself free from unhealthy food choices must be a wonderful feeling! Keep up the good work! You never cease to amaze me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

