Full Disclosure: the Truth about My Starbucks Addiction

I’ve always known.  Every time I’ve walked into a Starbucks and had my favorite drink, I’ve known exactly how many calories (within a certain range) that I’ve consumed.  An iced venti non-fat upside down caramel macchiato has approximately 240-270 calories.  Of course, that assumes that the barista follows the strict Starbucks formula.  Most days, when I’ve watched them, they tend to be liberal with the caramel.  And why wouldn’t they be?  Sugar makes people happy.

Or does it?

For years I’ve gone to Starbucks, yet I don’t really care for coffee.  I certainly can’t stand espresso.  But I do have a sweet tooth, and there’s something far more socially acceptable about drinking a Starbucks rather than hooking myself up to an IV and having vanilla buttercream frosting directed straight into my bloodstream.  Let’s face it, if you’re going to eat icing it might as well be buttercream.  What’s up with the fake whipped stuff anyways?  It’s not real!  Icing is all about the sugar and the fat and creaminess.

I’m digressing though.  Back to Starbucks.  The bitter taste of their espresso combined with the sweetness of the syrup and caramel completely gratifies my palate.  Of course it also feeds my sugar addiction.

Then there’s the cool factor.  It’s hip to go to Starbucks. I’ve been to London, France, Mexico and assorted other places and I’ve been to a Starbucks in just about every place. Did you know there’s a Starbucks in the Louvre? And that in London you can get your Starbucks drinks served in a real mug?

Thanksgiving 2010 I traveled to Cabo San Lucas on a cruise for the first time, and on Thanksgiving day I found my way to a Starbucks.  Yup.  I could have been snorkeling, walking on the beach, doing any number of other fun activities, but I was in Starbucks drinking some form of my favorite beverage.

So why am I writing this blog post?  I haven’t been to Starbucks in 10 days.  I’ve been taking a long hard look at why I do what I do and where I want to go. Sugar masks pain.  It’s an addiction.  I know it.  I live it.  It’s painful.  But it’s also a part of the pain of the past.  As I break the cycle I can move forward, into a brighter more beautiful world.

You see when I consume refined sugars I’m not my best when I do my job. I’m not my best in my relationships with others and, more importantly with myself.  I’m not best when I’m doing my Bikram Yoga.  And I want to be my best when I do my Yoga because it’s so much more than about the postures.  It’s about accepting my inner and outer beauty in this moment.

And I’d rather be totally completely and fully alive in the divinity of this moment than be trapped in the dullness of an addiction.

Image

Image

4 thoughts on “Full Disclosure: the Truth about My Starbucks Addiction

  1. Yep, sugar is addicting and despite the initial pleasure of the taste it makes me feel bad and does awful things to my arteries. I’m with you on being more intentional, especially with regard to what I put in my mouth. Thanks for the post. It encourages me.

  2. 10 days and counting – Excellent job Nancy! I know of your love of Starbucks, -You got me and my kids hooked on it years ago during our California visit many years ago – but if you can swear off Starbucks, there isn’t anything in this world that you can’t overcome. Good for you Nancy! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

