Nancy’s Nifty Homemade Trail Mix

I have a goal in mind for this week, and reaching that goal requires planning!  When I go about my days, I don’t always take the time to pre-plan meals and snacks, but I’ve decided to change that!  After yoga this morning I went to Sprouts and bought ingredients to make my own trail mix.  I’ve been inspired lately by friends who make their own, and I thought to myself “why not?” If I make my own trail mix I can control the contents and, more importantly, pick ingredients I want to eat!

I perused the aisles and picked the following: hot wasabi peas, golden berries, pumpkorn dusted with dark cocoa, raw almonds, unsweetened coconut slivers, date pieces, and edamame with goji berries. When I got home I pulled out a variety of measuring cups and a big red bowl.  After all, I wanted to know how much I was eating as well as what I was eating!

Here’s how my homemade trail mix measured up (per serving of each ingredient):

Hot wasabi peas: 120 calories, 3 grams of fiber

Pumpkorn: 140 calories, 2 grams of fiber

Raw almonds: 170 calories, 4 grams of fiber

Unsweetened coconut: 80 calories, 2 grams of fiber

Date pieces: 120 calories, 3 grams of fiber

Edamame with goji berries: 120 calories, 7 grams of fiber

Golden Berries: 80 calories, 3 grams of fiber

Total: 830 calories, 24 grams of fiber

I decided to separate it into 4 servings, so I’d have ready— made snacks for my power week! That means each serving of Nancy’s Nifty Trail Mix will have 207.5 calories and 6 grams of fiber, and I’ll enjoy EVERY BITE—that’s the best and healthiest thing I could do for myself!  (and as a side note, I have a healthy array of snacks in my pantry!)

THE INGREDIENTS:

Image

THE WHOLE SHEBANG:

Image

TWO SERVINGS OF NANCY’S NIFTY TRAIL MIX IN A PORTABLE GLASS CONTAINER!

Image

3 thoughts on “Nancy’s Nifty Homemade Trail Mix

  1. Was going to say “What the hell is pumpkorn?” but thanks to your pictures, I now see it’s pumpkin seeds. Your Bikram Princess trail mix is so colorful! Now take a picture of two servings perched atop a stack of essays!

    You’re making me hungry!

  2. Wow! You are such a smart wasabi pea! 🙂 LOL I haven’t even heard of alot of these ingredients! Great job for making another healthy change in your life, Nancy! Love the name of your trail mix too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

