My Life without Limitations!

I’ve been thinking a lot about this post. Last week when I was in Arizona I had a bit of an unfortunate encounter. Someone who ought to have known better treated me patronizingly because of my size, because of my weight. This person made presumptive assumptions, which, in another time and place would have made me feel bad, would have left me in tears. The details of what happened do not matter. My reaction does.

I have almost never allowed people’s negative perceptions of me to stop me from living. I’ve always worn bright, colorful and happy clothes, even at my highest weight. I’ve traveled to places near and far. The very first time I bought a new car I traveled alone throughout the Southwest for three and a half weeks, without hotel reservations. I went to England and France twice by myself. I cruised to Alaska and Mexio with friends. When in Mazatlan in 2010 I climbed to the top of “El Faro”—most definitely not a hike for the faint of heart!  Here’s one person’s description of that climb: http://attractions.uptake.com/blog/worlds-highest-lighthouse-mazatlan-mexico-9705.html

My zest for life goes beyond travel. If there’s been a movie I wanted to go see and I couldn’t find a friend, I’d go by myself. The same is true for going out to eat. If I wanted to go out on a Saturday night and didn’t have someone to go with I’d just go by myself. It’s not that I lack(ed) friends. I never have. My point is that I didn’t depend on needing others to do something if I wanted to do it.

When I’d encounter attitudes, like the one referenced in the first paragraph, I’d maybe cry for a bit, but I’d get over it and do what I planned anyways. Sometimes it might have taken me a few days to recover, but I did. I didn’t allow people to stop me, most of the time. Certainly, I don’t allow them to stop me now. I don’t give people power over me. I don’t allow me to stop me, at least not now!!!

I’m living the life I’ve always wanted while working on the dreams that have heretofore been dormant. I love the place that I’m at now. I’m learning, more than anything to get out of my own way. What does that mean? It means I really have no limitations. I can go anywhere and do anything. My future is truly limitless!!  And whenever I catch myself going down a negative path—I get myself into the hot room because I know that after 90 (well, in my case, 180) minutes I won’t have any room for negativity, not mine and not anyone else’s!!!

Standing at the top of “El Faro”! It’s a really really really STEEP hike to the top!

Image

Cruising the River Seine!

Image

British Museum “Selfie”!!

Image

IF you’d like, please feel free to follow my daily journey on facebook via my community fitness page:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaHawaiianPrincess

and my personal facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/IggieSue

3 thoughts on “My Life without Limitations!

  1. I love your zest for life! Your confidence and perseverance inspire me. Let me tell you something. Your blog was posted by my Bikram Yoga Abbotsford (BC) Canada. I have never met you, don’t have the same weight struggle, and yet you inspire me in ways no one else ever has. I look forward to your posts and look for them before I start my day. Yesterday, I had such a hard day (in my personal and work life) and left work (I work for the school district here in Abbotsford) almost completely spent. In my head thought UGH I don’t want to go to yoga I am way too tired and cranky and I could come up with a list a mile long but thought of you and immediately drove to my Bikram torture chamber…. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for posting your story, and don’t let anybody convince you to stop because… I need you. I need you to keep inspiring me to continue. Thank you thank you thank you for being brave enough to be YOU! You —marvelous beautiful you!! Please continue to ignore the ignorance of people who have no idea about anything. HUGS and heartfelt thanks!! Would love to meet you— and maybe one day we will, on a mat in the hot room. Please come to Canada??

  2. You are BEAUTIFUL. We absolutely love your passion for life. You really do have limitations at all, the world is yours completely. Can’t wait to see what you do next. Enjoy it all and keep on smiling 🙂

  3. For as long as I have known you, which has been many, many years now, I have always admired your ability to not allow others to decide your own limitations! You have always been the adventurous person I still know today and you are a force to be reckoned with! Keep moving forward Nancy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

