The Winter Olympics Bikram Yoga Style

II’ve been inspired lately by the Olympics and the Yoga Championships. I’m always looking for ways to improve my practice, and if you know me, you know that my practice isn’t just about the physical. The more space I create in the hot room, the most space I create in my heart, and that’s all I really seek to do: open my heart to all the possibilities life holds.

I’ve shown you pictures of my practice, written detailed descriptions, but I decided last night that I’d try taking it a step further. After watching some YouTube videos of the Yoga Championships, I decided to put together a short clip of me doing several asanas. I don’t hold these poses as long as I do in the hot room, or the video would be 90 minutes long! I wanted to simply do a few postures to show you and to show myself what I look like while doing yoga.

I chose the half-moon sequence, the triangle, and standing forward bend. I moved positions during the half-moon sequence as I wanted to see what I looked like in profile while doing a backbend. I did warm up before doing these poses. I love the half-moon sequence as I feel it helps to strengthen my arms. Someone once remarked to me that they felt they needed to lift weights in addition to Bikram. For me, my arms have better tone and definition than when I was lifting weights. I used to do weight machines at the gym several times a week. Now I only do it once in a while.

I also like the backbend portion of the half-moon sequence, but I do try to be careful not to put the entire backbend into my lower back as I’m prone to doing. I use to fall out of my backbends until my instructor guided me to push my hips slightly forward. Best piece of advice EVER!!

The triangle I have an odd predilection for because it helps me to focus on my alignment and my core. When I perform triangle correctly I come from my core and I DON’T lean on my leg. I don’t know how else to put it. I LOVE this posture for what it teaches me about my own sense of strength. I know I walk taller and straighter because I make the effort in this posture.

Standing forward bend. Eh. I just flowed into when I was making this short video. I want to work more on my alignment in this posture. I want to be able to have my head rest on the ground, but I’m not in a rush to get there. I want to get there when I can get there from my core because then I’ll be there from a space of strength AND flexibility!

That’s what this entry is about: my own sense of inner strength. Sure I can tell you I don’t like seeing my stomach jiggle in the video, but it is what it is. I love doing yoga. I love being active, and with this body, there’s gonna be a bit of jiggle and wiggle and whatnot.

I have met some amazing people in my Bikram practice (and outside of it too), and I wouldn’t change any of that. It’s not easy by any means, but I love the life I’m creating. And I’m creating it from the inside out. I know amazing things await me because I’m willing to keep working for them through the tears and into the smiles.

(a comment about the video: I’m going to learn how to edit future videos. This was my first effort, and I was soooo excited that I didn’t want to wait! I hope to do future videos as markers of my progress)

IF you’d like, please feel free to follow my daily journey on facebook via my community fitness page:

https://www.facebook.com/ConfessionsofaHawaiianPrincess

and my personal facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/IggieSue

2 thoughts on “The Winter Olympics Bikram Yoga Style

  1. Nancy – You simply amaze me! You are such an inspiration! Love the video! Your passion for Yoga really shows! Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

